My Tale of Two Booties

We see change and contrasts all around us.  And since arriving in Canada, this has been constant for me. The flowers and trees, food and drink, the clothing, entertainment – everything is different to what I am used to.

But transformation and changes keep us on our toes.

Now, speaking of toes…mine will be having a variety of different experiences over the next six months. For now, my sassy Merida sandals are the popular choice. My red polished toes enjoy the cool breezes. However, looking ahead, I decided I’d be wise to prepare for the inevitable, and when I saw these “Black Beauties” on the sale rack, I snatched them up. I think they are just as funky as the glittery sandals, but they sure feel different. They are the first pair of boots I’ve bought in decades. They are sturdy and roomy, they have a good tread and I can wear at least two pairs of warm woolen socks to keep my tootsies from freezing. My feet will like tacos!

As my friend Mary pointed out, this is just one of the accommodations I’ll have to make when the weather gets cooler. She says my tailored leather blazer is not going to be nearly warm enough. I’ll let you have a peek at me in my parka when I purchase one.

For several years the changes staring at me from the mirror have been worrying. More weight, more wrinkles and more sun damage have made me cringe – but I have avoided doing much about the results of too many delicious meals and too little sunscreen.

I find my latest footwear purchase is a good simile for the shift in my thinking. Black rubber boots don’t sound nearly as appealing as strappy gold sandals, but I thought ahead and have a couple of funky, fun “friends” to help me through the weather that’s waiting in the wings. And cutting back on my carbs and revving up my exercise are the allies to help me effect the physical makeover that needs to happen.

Change is the only constant in our lives… Gotta’ zip up my boots and jump on board!

10 thoughts on “My Tale of Two Booties

  1. You and my sister Eileen should have an exchange. She will soon be pruning down her cold weather wardrobe to move to Naples! I guess that’s what keep retail going.

    Like

  2. Joanna, the sail boat at the right side of your cover photo looks like our boat, “China Doll” which I gave to our son when Harry died. The boat now resides in FL.
    Claudia

    Like

    1. It looked so beautiful as it sailed past Mount Baker. I am sure “China Doll” looks just as lovely… BTW Claudia, the lovely lotion you gave me for my birthday is here in BC with me, and much appreciated in the drier climate.

      Like

  3. Oh boy! I could use a pair of those black beauties here in Merida about now.
    The monsoons have arrived and we have had rain almost every afternoon and sometimes all night.
    Just getting across the street and out for dinner is an interesting challenge.
    However, I won’t envy you the cold weather – give me the tropics any time.
    Can’t wait to see your parka! – D

    Like

    1. Ha ha David… I think you’d sweat in my black beauties… they are heavily lined. I am hoping that since spring came late this year the winter will also be delayed. And by the time it has really set in, I will be back in beautiful Merida.

      Like

    1. Thanks for your concern Martha, but I have been in Vancouver throughout this time of the fires. Kamloops, the town where I have an apartment has not been in danger, but it has been the main reception center for all the people evacuated because their homes are in danger. We hope the blazes will soon be contained… it has been devastating for this province.

      Like

Leave a Reply

