Sleepless in Merida…

At 2 a.m. something startled me.  Music from a party somewhere? A dog barking? A car horn honking? My foggy mind couldn’t quite figure it out – I wanted so badly to roll over and go back to sleep.

This day will be a busy one, I told myself, and you need your rest.  

I forced my eyes shut.

Tick-tock, tick-tock…

Come on, come on –  let’s settle back down now.

I closed my eyes tight and wiggled my head into the soft pillows.

Sigh-igh-igh-igh…

How soft my sheets are – how comfy I feel– I’m so ready to go back to dreamland.

Yaw-aw-aw-awn…

One minute passed, two minutes. The self-motivational tactic was NOT working.  I tried counting backwards from 100 to 0 with no slip-ups.

 – Ninety-nine, ninety-eight, ninety-seven… ninety-eight…  

NO – O – O -O-O-O-O !

– Maybe some of that Sleepy-Time tea might help?  

I climbd out of bed and padded to the kitchen. Of course the tea was at the back of the cupboard. After groping around and locating the tin, I  dusted it off, filled the kettle, waited for the boil, and let the tea steep. Ugh! The hot raspberry, mint and licorice liquid tasted ghastly, and I was more awake than ever.

 – Well, maybe a little time with facebook might help?

Oh-oh – oh-oh

But after twenty minutes of scrolling through inane comments and out-of-focus photos, my eyes started feeling heavy.

Hurray-ay-ay!

I was just about ready to pack it in when this post caught my eye:

 

Social media is leading the way, and in just two days, 1,300,000 Mexicans have made their views known.

2018 will be an electoral year in Mexico and the political parties traditionally receive funds from the “government” (the money of course comes from taxes paid by all Mexicans). The amount is 12 billion pesos! The change.org petition urges the parties to decline the 12 billion pesos slated for their electoral campaigns in 2018, which would free up the funds for use in earthquake relief and rebuilding efforts.

We don’t need to hear empty promises on TV and radio and see banners blowing in the wind. We want the parties to stand up for Mexico and be of some real use.

If they do, they will be acting like the LEADERS they claim to be – and God knows we desperately need some good leadership!

¡VIVA MÈXICO SEÑORES!

If you’d like to sign the petition, here’s the link:

https://www.change.org/p/senadomexicano-mx-diputados-canalizar-los-recursos-de-los-partidos-pol%C3%ADticos-a-la-reconstrucci%C3%B3n-de-zonas-afectadas?utm_medium=email&utm_source=welcome_new_user&utm_campaign=triggered&j=141343&sfmc_sub=553483212&l=32_HTML&u=26920992&mid=7233052&jb=58200

4 thoughts on “Sleepless in Merida…

  1. Hi Joanna

    Strange I can’t seem to read anything more on the site. It just has the link as does the email and goes nowhere.

    Cheers Andrea 613-853-1284

    >

    Like

  2. Wow, that is inspiring. Thank you for sharing. The entire petition was good to read.

    That bed photo cracked me up! That is exactly what it is like when you can’t sleep! Maddening!

    Like

Leave a Reply

